They Have No Shame.

westboroThe people of the Westboro Baptist Church (I refuse to link to them), who I encountered first hand when I attended the Episcopal Church General Convention that approved Gene Robinson as Bishop, have announced plans to picket President-elect Obama’s grandmother’s funeral. They have picked soldiers funerals, gay pride parades and every other place they can get attention but this one really appalls me.

Westboro Baptist Church
3701 SW 12th St. Topeka, Kansas 66604
785-273-0325
http://www.godhatesfags.com

NEWS RELEASE
WBC to picket the funeral of Madelyn Payne Dunham, – pursuant to the picketing laws of Hawaii or Kansas or, etc., wherever burial occurs, – in religious protest and warning to the living; to wit: “Prepare to meet thy God.” Amos 4:11.

Yes. Dying time is truth time, and reflection time, and time for meditating on the weighty issues of life: getting right with God, life, death, Heaven, Hell, sin, righteousness, judgment to come, etc. Obama says his grandmother Dunham raised him, and, her “influence on his manner and the way he viewed the world was substantial.” If so, then she has much to answer for as she stands before the Lord. Obama says he will use the White House as a Bully Pulpit to advance the cause of murdering more babies and same-sex marriage. “God hath appointed a day, in the which He will judge the world in righteousness by Christ.” Acts 17:31.

“And shall not God avenge his own elect, which cry to him day and night?” Luke 18:7.

“For we know him that hath said, Vengeance belongeth unto me, I will recompence [sic], saith the Lord. It is a fearful thing to fall into the hands of the living God..” Reb. 10:30,31.

I have to really learn how to love when dealing with people like this but it is hard as hell to do so. If they want to quote Bible verses, try 1 John 4:20-21.

If anyone says, “I love God,” yet hates his brother, he is a liar. For anyone who does not love his brother, whom he has seen, cannot love God, whom he has not seen. And he has given us this command: Whoever loves God must also love his brother.

4 Comments

Filed under Christianity, gay rights, Right Wing Idiocy

4 responses to “They Have No Shame.

  1. Following your self description, I am an aging sometimes ranting, more often rambling, conservative (or traditionalist, or orthodox or knee-jerk bigotted (choose your own adjective, I’ll answer to most of them) episcopalian.
    I expect you and I would disagree substantially on many subjects either of us would care to write about.

    But you have hit on one exception. The folks, and more importantly, the thinking, from Westboro is beyond tolerating.

    Your response is grace-filled, and I John certainly on the money. Jesus had even stronger words.

  2. Apparently not. That is one of the saddest photos I’ve seen in a while. It is truly despicable of them to picket funerals. Who is their God?

    I’ve been meaning to write you, I’m beyond sad about the vote that was lost. It just absolutely boggles my mind the mindset of those opposed to marriage. You know what I mean.

  3. jason m

    hey Clyde, congrats on the election and getting your country back!, thank goodness.

    now if only california ( and america at large ) could see the light on equal rights for gays- bizarre and hugely disappointing

    this posting is terrifying – how low they will go- very sad indeed

    as to the love your brother thought, the way i look at it, hoping for the good opinion, respect, or tolerance of people who would rather see me dead as a gay man from groups and individuals who preach and enact hatred and terror – that results in bashings, discrimination, etc. ( the list goes on ) – is not and will never be a place to invest my love and compassion.

    in my opinion the only way to obstruct the haters is to create a system whereby everyone is treated equally under the law of the land – you’re a more compassionate man that i.

    peace, j